Technical standards to stimulate smart cities

    The achievement of true smart cities is one of main challenges of the more immediate future. To support their deployment in Spain, over more than two years ago, the Secretary of State for Telecommunications and for the Information Society (SETSI), created the Technical Standardisation Committee AEN/CTN 178 Smart Cities as part of the Spanish Association for Standardisation and Certification (AENOR). The aim of this committee, on which more than 300 experts participate, is to draw up technical standards that provide guidelines for the deployment of smart cities.

    The work is structured around five sub-committees that are headed up by different public administrations: SC 1 Infrastructures (Rivas Vaciamadrid Town Hall); SC 2 Indicators and Semantics (Santander and Valencia City Halls); SC 3 Government and Mobility (Valladolid City Hall); SC 4 Energy and the Environment (Malaga City Hall); and SC 5 Tourist destinations (SEGITTUR and These sub-committees are in turn supported by 25 working groups. In total, more than 300 experts are involved thereby making the AEN/CTN 178 one of the committees with the greatest volume of participation, a fact that undoubtedly demonstrates the interest being taken by both public administrations and the various industrial sectors in the issues being addressed.

    The committee, which enjoys the support of RECI, the Spanish Smart Cities Network, is chaired by the SETSI with the Spanish Federation of Municipalities and Provinces acting as deputy chair. Read more…

    Tania Marcos
    Secretary, Technical Standardisation Committee AEN/CTN 178, AENOR

    Article published in: FuturENERGY June 2015